Town Government Overview

The voters of the Town of East Greenwich, through a "Home Rule Charter" approved in 1972, adopted a Council/Manager form of government. This provides a five member legislative body with a professional administrator. The legislative body is styled after the traditional New England form of government with a five member Town Council elected at large for two year terms. The Town Manager is chosen by the Town Council and serves at their discretion. The Manager is charged with the administrative responsibility of the Town Government.

Town Council Rules and Guidelines are reviewed twice a year.

Send an e-mail to all of the Council Members.

Suzanne McGee Cienki
Republican, President

Sean M. Todd
Republican, Vice President

Mark Schwager

Andrew F. Deutsch

Nino M. Granatiero

Gayle Corrigan
Acting Town Manager

The Town Manager Office provides for the proper administration of all affairs of the Town and is responsible to the Town Council for same. The Town Manager is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Town.
The following services are provided by the office:

  • Recommend to the Town Council adoption of such measures necessary or expedient for the health, safety or welfare of the Town or for the improvement of administrative services
  • Direct and supervise Town staff
  • Prepare the budget annually and submit it to the Town Council together with a message describing its important features and be responsible for its administration after adoption
  • Negotiate contracts on behalf of the Town subject to the approval of Town Council
  • Represent the interests of the Town of East Greenwich with State and Federal agencies, other local governments and agencies
  • Administer the personnel system of the Town
  • Keep the Town Council advised of the financial condition and future needs of the Town and make such recommendations as deemed desirable
  • Coordinate the activities of all boards, commissions and committees as may be required by Town Council

Monitor proposed State legislation affecting local interest

Town Departments

Town Departments are located in different buildings throughout Town.  All offices are open Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm.  The Police Department is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

This historic building houses key departments.  Handicap access is available from Peirce Street.

125 Main Street
Main phone number: 401.886.8600

Acting Town Manager - Gayle Corrigan  Human Resources
 401.886.8665  401.885-8665
Finance Director - Linda Dykeman  Tax Assessor - Janice Peixinho
 401.886.8609  401.886.8614
 Planning Director - Lisa Bourbonnais  Town Clerk - Leigh Carney
 401.886.8644  401.886.8604

Both the School Administration and the Public Works department is located in this building.  Public Works is on the lower level.

111 Pierce Street

 Director of Public Works - Joe Duarte         Building and Zoning Official - Wayne Pimental     
 401.886.8621  401.886.8618

The recently renovated Swift Community Center is located at 121 Pierce Street.

Senior / Human Services Director – Erin McAndrew


The Information Technology department has their main office in this building on the lower level.

Information Technology Manager - Wendy Schmidle

The Police Station is at 176 First Avenue.

To reach Dispatch please dial,  401.884.2244

Chief of Police - Col. Stephen J. Brown         Deputy Chief of Police - Capt. Stanley Cirella 
 401.886.8627    401.886.8632


The Fire Department has two locations in Town, 284 Main Street and 1180 Frenchtown Road.

The administrative offices are location at 284 Main Street and include the office of the Fire Chief, Deputy Chief, and the Fire Alarm & Communications Office.  The entrance is located to the left of the apparatus garages under the bell tower.  The Fire Marshals Office is located at the East Greenwich Town House at 111 Peirce Street.


Fire Chief Russell McGillivray        Deputy Fire Chief Michael Sullivan 
 401.886.8686    401.886.8686

The Recreation Building is located at 1127 Frenchtown Road.

Recreation Director – Cathy Bradley

Welcome to the official website of the Town of East Greenwich.  This is your on-line resource for information about the municipal services available to you whether you are a resident or a visitor.

Normal business hours for Town Hall and other Town offices are from 8:30am until 4:30pm.

The Town of East Greenwich provides the following eServices as a courtesy to our residents.


General Code e360   

 Town Charter and Municipal Code - We provide  complete listing of the Town’s municipal code on-line via the link to Municipal Code - e360.

Recent Charter changes and new ordinances are available on the site in the New Laws section. 

 Official Payments    

Official Payments web site allows you to pay your sewer assessment, sewer use or tax bill on-line.  There is a small fee that you will be charged for this service.

PDF All PDFs require the free Adobe Reader.